i get an error when running the game

General comments and topics relating to Giants.

Moderator: Staff

Post Reply
Rollo
Kabuto's Playtoy
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:17 pm

i get an error when running the game

Post by Rollo » Sat Jun 22, 2019 8:05 pm

He guys,

It has been a while but i recently re-installed Giants again.

I first had the problem with bumpmapping i got weird blue textures.

I downloaded the dgVoodoo2 and copies from the MS folder the 3 DLL files to the main folder of Giants.
Now when i run it i get an error message:
Could not initialize direct3D. You may want to check that the latest version o DirectX is correctly installed on your system. Also make sure that this program was compiled with header files that match the installed DirectX DLL's
I checked and have DirectX 11 installed.

Anyone have a solution?

Ty all

User avatar
Tig
Yan the Pimp
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: i get an error when running the game

Post by Tig » Sat Jun 22, 2019 8:37 pm

Hey there! Seems like something might have gone wrong with the dll's. Did you patch up the game to 1.497 first?
We have a wide range of techsupport and multiple people to help out with your problem on our DIscord server. Would make it easier to help you fix it. https://discord.gg/Avj4azU

Rollo
Kabuto's Playtoy
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:17 pm

Re: i get an error when running the game

Post by Rollo » Sat Jul 06, 2019 5:20 pm

Thanks. Yes, i had the latest patch :0)

It worked when i tried today. Maybe my computer just needed a restart. Ok, time for another playthrough

Post Reply