Router.. Dammit..

Post questions and comments related to hosting regular servers or dedicated servers.

Moderator: Staff

Post Reply
User avatar
Boom
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Brazil - São Paulo

Router.. Dammit..

Post by Boom » Fri Feb 10, 2006 4:50 pm

Hello all.
I´ve just got a new router (D-link DI 604) and im using it to share my internet conection with another computer.
The problem is: I cant host anymore. Well I can, people join the room on GSA but when game launches they dont join. GSA says its due to the router, which is causing my internal IP to be diferent from my external one. Any sugestions of how to fix it will be welcome.

Accusnoetn
Sappho's Henchman
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 8:52 pm

Post by Accusnoetn » Fri Feb 10, 2006 6:07 pm

Forward these ports:

UDP Ports 15000-16375 (Must be forwarded to host)
UDP Port 8911 (Must be forwarded for the game to appear on Gamespy)
TCP/UDP Port 19711 (Must be forwarded to permit players to join a game)

Everything should work properly if you have done that.

User avatar
Boom
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Brazil - São Paulo

Post by Boom » Fri Feb 10, 2006 6:21 pm

Erm.. How do i do that? And these ports will make only giants works or every other game I have?

User avatar
GibLit
Staff
Staff
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Canada

Post by GibLit » Fri Feb 10, 2006 6:58 pm

Here are the private IP adresses that routers use:

10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255
172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255

Yours is one of those in a particular range from 0-255. Just.. here, read up.

User avatar
Boom
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Brazil - São Paulo

Post by Boom » Fri Feb 10, 2006 10:24 pm

Mine is 192.168.0.1. This i know. I dont know how to "foward ports".

User avatar
GibLit
Staff
Staff
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Canada

Post by GibLit » Sat Feb 11, 2006 3:31 am

GibLit wrote:Read up.

User avatar
Droid2K4
Lord of the Vimps
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:13 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

port forward

Post by Droid2K4 » Sat Feb 11, 2006 1:38 pm

go to www.portforward.com and clcik on forwarding choose the type of your router and then the game (giants,gamespy etc) and then u see ur own router and a walkthrough how u need to do it

DarkFalcoZ
Reg the Smooth Operator
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 12:53 am

Post by DarkFalcoZ » Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:39 am

Will those ports work just for D-Link routers or can we use them on other routers?

Tasiin
Staff
Staff
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:17 pm

Post by Tasiin » Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:55 am

Any router.

User avatar
Boom
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Brazil - São Paulo

Post by Boom » Sun Feb 19, 2006 10:46 pm

Is there like a limit of ports one can foward? To foward all the ports i needed to play Warcraft III I had to remove some of the router's preset configurations.. Cuz it kept saying that it couldnt add more entries.. and i had used about 20 of them only.. Port range didnt work at all...

SSJBardock
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:37 pm

Post by SSJBardock » Tue Feb 21, 2006 4:43 pm

There is no defined limit, but your router may have one.

Tasiin
Staff
Staff
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:17 pm

Post by Tasiin » Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:27 am

My router has a limit of ten, but from what I've read and seen that's unusually low. I had to flash some third party firmware to it to get around that, which may be an option for you too if you run into that kind of problem.

User avatar
Boom
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 333
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:45 pm
Location: Brazil - São Paulo

Post by Boom » Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:27 pm

Tasiin wrote:I had to flash some third party firmware to it to get around that, which may be an option for you too if you run into that kind of problem.
Cool, now what does that mean? (J/k, but i have no idea what is and how to do that.)

User avatar
GiveGiantssomeLove
Kabuto's Playtoy
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 5:53 pm

Post by GiveGiantssomeLove » Sat Oct 02, 2010 2:45 pm

GibLit wrote:Here are the private IP adresses that routers use:

10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255
172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255
192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255

Yours is one of those in a particular range from 0-255. Just.. here, read up.


I wonder if i can 100% Host Games when i use them ;P

Hmm is it bad when i live in Germany? *Thinks*

Post Reply