Giants 2 anyone?

General comments and topics relating to Giants.

Moderator: Staff

User avatar
CrapHeap
Yan the Pimp
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:39 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Yay

Post by CrapHeap » Fri Mar 25, 2011 3:08 pm

Depeus wrote:That will help LOADS.
I hope so :) .

User avatar
CrapHeap
Yan the Pimp
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:39 am
Location: Belgium

Post by CrapHeap » Fri Mar 25, 2011 4:26 pm

Do any of you guys have a decent operating system (Linux, bsd, kolibrios,... no, not windoze :) )?

User avatar
Nagadkcin
Lord of the Vimps
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: California, U.S.A.
Contact:

Post by Nagadkcin » Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:13 pm

The magority of people have windows. linux isn't that good anyway. :roll:

Depeus
Lord of the Vimps
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:37 pm

:)

Post by Depeus » Fri Mar 25, 2011 6:07 pm

Can't wait. Please can you upload some screenies via facebook?

User avatar
CrapHeap
Yan the Pimp
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:39 am
Location: Belgium

Post by CrapHeap » Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:22 pm

Depeus wrote:Can't wait. Please can you upload some screenies via facebook?
Once I get Visual studio working :x .
Nagadkcin wrote:The magority of people have windows. linux isn't that good anyway. :roll:
That's it! No build for you unless you change to Linux :twisted: .
And Tux owns your stupid little 4-colored flag :) .

Depeus
Lord of the Vimps
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:37 pm

Lol

Post by Depeus » Fri Mar 25, 2011 7:53 pm

HURRY UP - Just Kidding :P

Giants_Gamer32
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:19 pm
Location: Somewhere

Post by Giants_Gamer32 » Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:08 pm

CrapHeap wrote:
Depeus wrote:Can't wait. Please can you upload some screenies via facebook?
Once I get Visual studio working :x .
Nagadkcin wrote:The magority of people have windows. linux isn't that good anyway. :roll:
That's it! No build for you unless you change to Linux :twisted: .
And Tux owns your stupid little 4-colored flag :) .
I'm not going to change to linux, never, to test something i don't know of and even there's no pics of it. And you didn't gave any info about what is this, don't expect me to try it, sorry.

User avatar
CrapHeap
Yan the Pimp
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:39 am
Location: Belgium

Post by CrapHeap » Fri Mar 25, 2011 8:55 pm

1>game.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol __imp__createDevice
1>C:\Dev\Giants2\MSVS_Stuff\Release\Giants2.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals

:(
Will continue tomorrow.

User avatar
CrapHeap
Yan the Pimp
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:39 am
Location: Belgium

Post by CrapHeap » Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:56 am

Giants_Gamer32 wrote:
CrapHeap wrote:
Depeus wrote:Can't wait. Please can you upload some screenies via facebook?
Once I get Visual studio working :x .
Nagadkcin wrote:The magority of people have windows. linux isn't that good anyway. :roll:
That's it! No build for you unless you change to Linux :twisted: .
And Tux owns your stupid little 4-colored flag :) .
I'm not going to change to linux, never, to test something i don't know of and even there's no pics of it. And you didn't gave any info about what is this, don't expect me to try it, sorry.
I was just kidding :) .
Also, there are some pictures on facebook and you should try a dual boot one day :wink: .

Depeus
Lord of the Vimps
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:37 pm

...

Post by Depeus » Sat Mar 26, 2011 8:24 pm

There are pictures on facebook, but not of this 0.0000001 version that you compiled :P I still can play it cause compiling don't work.

User avatar
CrapHeap
Yan the Pimp
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:39 am
Location: Belgium

Re: ...

Post by CrapHeap » Sun Mar 27, 2011 1:10 pm

Depeus wrote:There are pictures on facebook, but not of this 0.0000001 version that you compiled :P I still can play it cause compiling don't work.
Somehow visual studio can't link with the irrlicht library (not good) and it partially killed codeblocks so I can't build giants2 until visual studio decides I can :( .
This is very irritating, considering visual studio also removed the exe file that worked for me, so I can't upload pics now.

And the error you posted is probably caused by incorrect settings, try going to settings->compiler and debugger settings->toolchain things and make sure mingw.exe is in the directory listed there.


I'll try to get visual studio working today so I can upload stuff.

User avatar
CrapHeap
Yan the Pimp
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:39 am
Location: Belgium

Did I have to kill it?

Post by CrapHeap » Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:41 pm

Got everything fixed by using a system restore thingie, killing visual studio :twisted: .
You might want to check if you've got visual c++ redistributable 2008/2010 installed (should be found in the install/remove programs-thing list), as it could be the reason you can't run giants2.

Depeus
Lord of the Vimps
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:37 pm

Yup

Post by Depeus » Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:41 pm

It's listed though I can't find it in the Giants folder.

User avatar
CrapHeap
Yan the Pimp
Posts: 131
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:39 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Yup

Post by CrapHeap » Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:46 pm

Depeus wrote:It's listed though I can't find it in the Giants folder.
It's from micro$oft so it shouldn't be in giants folder unless microsoft messed things up (again :p ).
Do you mind posting the version (s) you have?

edit: I think things started to go wrong for me when I uninstalled visual c++ redistributable 2008 9.0.30729.4148 or 9.0.30729.17, but I'm not sure.
I'll look into it.

Depeus
Lord of the Vimps
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:37 pm

Ok

Post by Depeus » Mon Mar 28, 2011 6:53 pm

Well I tried downloading your version in the tutorial, but the link didn't work so I went to their website and download the latestest one. I hope your computer bucks it's ideas up and starts working again. Best of luck :)

Post Reply