Graphical glitches

Ask questions that relate to hardware / software issues.

Moderator: Staff

Post Reply
SSJBardock
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:37 pm

Graphical glitches

Post by SSJBardock » Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:30 pm

Image

Anybody has any idea why I'm getting these glitches when playing Giants? I never had them before and I did not recently change my hardware configuration...

User avatar
Trust Kill
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:48 pm
Contact:

Post by Trust Kill » Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:56 pm

Might be that your disc is dirty/scratched or plain old.

User avatar
Exploderman
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:29 am
Location: A House
Contact:

Post by Exploderman » Thu Nov 09, 2006 1:02 am

Try reinstalling giants?

SSJBardock
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:37 pm

Post by SSJBardock » Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:46 pm

no, no.

Anybody who really knows what's going on?

User avatar
Glude
Reg the Smooth Operator
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: France

Post by Glude » Thu Nov 09, 2006 5:32 pm

That's a graphics card problem.
Try to clean it's heatsink, and check if the fan is still working.

SSJBardock
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:37 pm

Post by SSJBardock » Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:40 pm

It's clean. All other games work fine...

User avatar
Exploderman
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 338
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:29 am
Location: A House
Contact:

Post by Exploderman » Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:44 pm

Did you change your color or resulotion settings? or did you get a new monitor?

User avatar
GibLit
Staff
Staff
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:37 pm
Location: Canada

Post by GibLit » Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:10 pm

The Giants community is indeed a reliable source of tech help. :|

I honestly don't have a valid answer either, but I'll just say that I have seen this exact glitch a while ago when I overclocked my old video card to (most likely) exceed its limit. I'm sure you wouldn't do that though, and as you stated, all other games work fine, so I'm rendered as clueless as you are here.

Tasiin
Staff
Staff
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:17 pm

Post by Tasiin » Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:47 pm

Exploderman wrote:or did you get a new monitor?
Sigh.

What video card do you have? The only thing I can think of for you to try (if you haven't already) would be different drivers. It does look a little bit like overheating, but if you're not having any problems with other games that's not too likely to be it, either.

SSJBardock
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:37 pm

Post by SSJBardock » Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:02 pm

I got a ati radeon 9800 pro with normal catalyst drivers. I also had the bug once when I overclocked my gf2mx (heating problem indeed) but right now it only seems to occurs on textures that are not 100% opaque (or possible have other kinds of effects applied to them). I guess I could try some alternative drivers.

User avatar
Glude
Reg the Smooth Operator
Posts: 428
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 6:32 pm
Location: France

Post by Glude » Fri Nov 10, 2006 8:12 pm

It seems to be an overheating graphical memory error...
You should check the temperature in the drivers.

SSJBardock
Evil Smartie Genious
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:37 pm

Post by SSJBardock » Tue Nov 14, 2006 6:34 pm

My bad, the glitches don't occur just in Giants, they are just less noticeable in other games. I tried the Omega Radeon drivers, but that didn't help...I guess I'll take a look at my gpu fan sometime soon...

Post Reply